Brimbank in with a chance for second Victorian Tennis Award


Brimbank Council is in with a chance to take home another Tennis Victoria Award for the second year running, after being named as a finalist in the 2017 Victorian Tennis Awards.

Mayor of Brimbank, Cr John Hedditch said Council won the inaugural award in the ‘Supporting Tennis – Local Government Recognition’ category in 2016 for its ongoing work in supporting local tennis.

“Brimbank was thrilled to win the inaugural award for this category in 2016 and is excited to be named as a finalist again in 2017,” Cr Hedditch said.

In2Tennis Returns

“This year, our nomination is based on the highly successful In2Tennis Program that ran earlier this year, as well as the installation of a new online booking and gate access system at six local tennis venues which will now provide the community with access to these tennis facilities.

“We were extremely happy with how well In2Tennis was received by the community and embraced by local tennis clubs.

“The program ran over 10 days to coincide with the Australian Open and offered 36 different programs at no cost to the community.

“About 580 locals were registered to take part in In2Tennis – the majority of whom were not members of a tennis club - and as an outcome, more than 50 participants have since joined a local tennis club,” Cr Hedditch said.

The Tennis Victoria Award nomination also takes into account Brimbank’s long-term Tennis Strategy (2014-2024) and Tennis Court Resurfacing Guidelines which now see a 50/50 cost share between clubs and Council for resurfacing tennis courts, amongst other things.

The 2017 Victorian Tennis Awards will be presented at the Tennis Victoria Championships Dinner on Monday 23 October.

Already a Winner

Earlier this year, Brimbank’s In2Tennis initiative won the ‘Community Program of the Year Award’ at the 2017 Parks and Leisure Australia Vic/Tas Conference. The initiative is now a finalist in the Parks and Leisure Australia National Awards which will be announced at an awards dinner on Tuesday 22 October.